Review Alumni
Where former reporters and editors from the University of Delaware student newspaper unite. Woo-hoo!

Thursday, February 26, 2004  


Many thanks go out to Shaun Gallagher for setting it up for us. Post there from now on -- you'll love it!

posted by Karen | 12:07 PM

From Betsy "Former Lurker" Lowther, '99:

Kelly's right. Let's have the news!

I live in Beijing, where I am only able to access this site through the kindness of anonymous proxy servers set up to get around the Chinese government's block on blogs. Yes, it's true. (Needless to say, the day I discovered this service was a very, very happy one.)

I'm an editor at a new, expat-oriented magazine here that (fingers crossed) should launch very soon. I'vebeen working there for three months (I've been in Beijing for four, and plan to stay for 2 years, due to the significant other-related job situation.)

After college (and a second year as a News Journal features intern) I moved to NYC, where I worked as an Ed. Asst. and Asst. Ed. at Working Mother magazine (very small, lots to do) and then an Associate Editor at Harper's Bazaar (where I gathered many, many stories about working at a fashion magazine). Also: The great Catherine Hopkinson was there too. I briefly lived in DC and worked for AOL's entertainment division just before I moved to China, but I don't like to talk about it (evil, evil city).

And that's it. All your China-related job opportunities, stories, or travel needs can be sent here:

posted by Karen | 9:11 AM

Tuesday, February 24, 2004  

From Greg Orlando:

Xbox Nation needs you. Specifically, you. We need one (1) and possibly more freelancers to write minifeatures about the Xbox and its vast library of video games.

We pay. But you've gotta be more with the funny and not so much with the sucking.

If you're interested, please send your résumé, a few writing samples, and some story ideas so that we may steal them, to:

Greg Orlando
Xbox Nation
Ziff Davis Media
101 Second Street
8th Floor
San Francisco, CA

Oh, and we're looking for people who've actually been in the same room as a video game.

posted by Karen | 8:42 PM

From Karen Bischer:

Hello, all. It's been 9 months since this site started and it's been fantastic catching up with everyone. What makes it so great is that people are still excited to hear from one another and debate whatever topics we are all still passionate about. Unfortunately, I don't really have the time any more to keep posting messages -- I originally intended this site to be more like a database, where people could post their contact information, a little bio on what they're doing now, or job openings. I had no idea it would be this popular, but I'm glad!

So I'm wondering if anyone out there wants to take it over, preferably someone who could make the site awesome, more like a real web site instead of a blog. I'll gladly keep this one up and running until a new "parent" takes over. And I'll keep this one around so people can check back on old posts. Just drop me an e-mail to let me know:


posted by Karen | 10:14 AM

From Kelly Bothum:
I'm guessing I'm one of many lurkers on this site, so I thought I'd burst into the light by asking where other people work. I'm curious how many Reviewers are in newspapers, magazines, online, etc., and not just the big-name places. Really I'm just nosy and want to know what other people do, even if it's people I don't know. So let's share.

I work at The Patriot-News in Harrisburg, Pa., covering local government and education. You?

posted by Karen | 10:13 AM

Thursday, February 19, 2004  

Check out Ryan Cormier's new blog.

posted by Karen | 2:40 PM

Tuesday, February 17, 2004  

From Danielle Ryan (

does anyone know where scot ellis is? i haven't heard anything about him in eons.

posted by Karen | 12:56 PM

From Peter Bothum (
Apparently, those crazy kids who make up the current staff at The Review have cloned Ayis and gave the Ayis Clone the C3PO treatment and voila: A super-mega-awesome web archives system.
Feel both the Love and the Lew as you look back on some of your favorite issues from the Old School.
My personal favs from my senior year so far are 5/2/97 (the hallowed annual "Best of Newark" issue) and 4/11/97 ("Godwin Strikes Out Bowling"...I could have sworn we snuck "Wampler Licks Beaver" into the issue. Guess not).
Go here:
The Artist Formerly Known As Ratso

posted by Karen | 11:50 AM

Monday, February 16, 2004  

From Danielle Ryan:
Hey Everyone. I just heard the sad news about Dennis. My head is reeling. Back in April or May of 1994, I gave Dennis a pair of Phish tickets (I'm not a big fan of the group.) Dennis went to the Bob Carpenter center that night, but ended up giving the tickets to two fans and he was really happy that he made them so happy. Then, instead of going inside to see the show, he hung out in the parking lot with a bunch of hippies and had a superior time.

He ended up writing a column for the part two section of the review about that night and how he had bonded with other people and how that was the ways things oughta be with us human beings...if a current reviewer could find that column and post it, that would be awesome. now i'm going to sit down and try to process this news.
peace to y'all.

--the girl formerly known as danielle bernato (now danielle ryan).

posted by Karen | 5:40 PM

Thursday, February 12, 2004  

From Catherine H:

matched with a mento? what a fantastic idea! imagine what the young journalists can accomplish with the help of the freshmaker!

posted by Karen | 11:04 AM

Wednesday, February 11, 2004  

From Shaun Gallagher:

Now that UD's Spring Semester has started, I'd like to remind all you talented alumni about the Review Alumni Group's journalism mentors program. We pair current UD journalism students with Review alumni who can offer advice on how to find an internship, improve their writing, and survive in the real world.

About 20 former Review staffers have already signed up, and more than a dozen of them were matched with a "mento" last semester. We've had some great positive feedback. For instance, one mentor invited her student to her office for lunch. They chatted about The Review and internships, and the mentor ended up passing along the student's clips and resume to her HR director. (Granted, that's above and beyond the call of duty, but it's a great testimonial.)

I've reminded the UD journalism professors about the mentors program, and it looks like they're starting to mention it to their Spring Semester classes, so we're going to need some more alumni volunteers. If you'd like to give back to your alma mater — but you're too broke to donate material goods — consider becoming an alumni mentor. You can sign up at this URL:

posted by Karen | 1:58 PM

Tuesday, February 10, 2004  

From Paul Fain ( ):

What a sad story. Dennis was a good man, and a determined, aggressive reporter. I owe him a lot for the encouragement and guidance he gave me. I'm definitely in on helping to create some sort of legacy fund over at UD. Spreading the word to ex-Reviewers who knew Dennis is a good way to start.

posted by Karen | 3:39 PM

From Oakland Childers:

I got this e-mail today. Thought I'd post it for you folks, many of whom knew Dennis way better than I did.

Hope you don't mind the email, but I am Dennis's sister. I found the Udel blogspot web page through a Google search, and I am very glad I did. I just wanted to tell you all (and didn't know how except to visit your website) that it is so touching that you would think of Dennis this way, and I think a legacy at the University is an outstanding idea. We are also making a scrapbook for his daughter of the memories of people he knew, so if any of you would be so kind as to email me with some memories, stories, or pictures we would be very very grateful.
Thank you for bringing me a smile today.
God Bless,

posted by Karen | 3:00 PM

Friday, February 06, 2004  

From Oakland Childers:

I agree with Hickey. No sense in putting all the effort into one thing. We're concerned about all this because of our association through the Review and UD and any organized gift should reflect that. It wouldn't stop you from making a donation to both. Skip your mochachino for a week you stingy bastards.

posted by Karen | 1:11 PM

From Brian Hickey:
Here's the thing about focusing solely on the newspaper's scholarship fund. Not that there's anything wrong with ensuring his daughter gets an education -- because that's obviously the most important worry at this point -- but I think from the paper advertising it, etc., that's going to well be taken care of (hopefully). Where solely doing that falls short is where it comes to -- for lack of a better term -- legacy. I'm of the mind that there needs to be something out there,with his name on it, so even people who never come in contact with his wife and child will have an opportunity to find out who he was, hence, a scholarship fund run separately from the one the newspaper's handling.

posted by Karen | 10:25 AM

From April Helmer:

It seems like there may be a small consensus building to help make sure Annemarie goes to college, so are we going to do a fundraiser or send donations separately? It seems like it's all so early that there isn't a firm plan, so we could take a few weeks to hammer this out.

What are thoughts about doing something as a group or would people rather go ahead and make their own contributions?

posted by Karen | 9:02 AM

Thursday, February 05, 2004  

From: Jeff Pearlman

I've gotta say, Mike's right. The best place the money can go is to O'Brien's family. It's a much better idea than a scholarship fund.

posted by Karen | 10:14 PM

From Mike Regan (

I got a call from a guy at the Virginia Pilot on an unrelated matter, and we got to talking about O'Brien. He told me the Pilot has set up a scholarship fund for Dennis' daughter Annemarie and gave me the details. The paper is going to either set up a 529 savings plan, or just give his wife the money directly and tell her it's for Annemarie's college education.  I think if we collect anything it should go directly to his wife and daughter, and this fund is probably the best option. I never met Dennis, but a lot of people I respect have spoken highly of him so I think I'll send a check....Annemarie O'Brien Scholarhip Fund, c/o Landmark Credit Union, 150 W. Brambleton Ave., Norfolk, VA 23510. If you have any questions for me, you can reach me at Go Blue Hens!

posted by Karen | 4:13 PM

From Oakland Childers
It's a tough call, and a lot easier to make when you're looking at it with some distance. It's never easy to write about a suicide even if you don't know the person. I can't imagine having to write about a co-worker's death. Really I think it's a simple matter of asking yourself if the details you are omitting are needed to make the story true and accurate. If so, run them. If not, you have some thinking to do. Anyone remember the story about the UD administrator that drown herself in a toilet? The Review caught all kinds of hell over printing that. I would certainly call that an "unusual" suicide. Maybe the gory details should be saved for a follow-up in a day or two, when the news has had a chance to sink in. Without a doubt though, the fact that a military reporter returning from Iraq committed suicide is important -- especially considering record numbers of soldiers are doing the same. Makes you think maybe this war thing isn't all it's cracked up to be.

From Jimmy P. Miller:

I agree with April.

I have no problem with the idea of a scholarship, but I'm more concerned about his family. Was he the main bread winner? Did he have life insurance? Will life insurance even pay if someone kills themselves? I don't know. But I'd rather put my energy, money and thoughts toward a family that might be left in the lurch here.

posted by Karen | 2:56 PM

From April Helmer:

A couple of thoughts...

Being a pro, do you think Dennis wasn't aware that there would be coverage of his death? I don't know what the answer is, but I think he was probablyin the park instead of his home to save his wife and daughter from that kind of pain and that he likely set up that meeting to make sure that someone he knew, but not his wife, found him in a timely matter. It's one of those weird situations, wouldn't Dennis himself have covered that story if it happened on his beat?

And I think the scholarship idea is a good one, but I have a question that I'd really like some feedback on. My first reaction after hearing about his daughter is that I wanted to send them something. In one of the stories I read there was a mention that a scholarship or a trust may be started for her. Not to say that a young journalist wouldn't be deserving, but my gut reaction would be to have a fundraiser and give the money to that fund. If she's just 2 now, who knows what college will be like in 16 years, but I obviously have no idea of any arrangements Dennis and his wife may have made in the event that something would happen to them.

Any thoughts?

posted by Karen | 2:32 PM

From Ryan Cormier:

What's everyone's thoughts on this?

Should Dennis' paper revealed how he died and where?

I know it's tough, but I really think they should have. It seems as if it happened a) in a public place and b) to a public figure.

posted by Karen | 1:30 PM

From Shaun Gallagher:

I didn't know Brian, but my thoughts and prayers are with all of you who worked alongside him. Regarding the scholarship idea ... Who says you'd need to go through the university? Particularly if it were a one-time scholarship, I'd think you could just collect the money, pick a kid, and give it to him or her without getting the university involved.

Also, totally off topic, I came across an article on some random Web site that says Rolling Stone writer and MTV2 VJ Jancee Dunn is a UD grad. I've never heard her name dropped before in UD circles. Can anybody confirm it?

posted by Karen | 8:54 AM

Wednesday, February 04, 2004  

From Oakland Childers:

I think that's a great idea. Raising $25K shouldn't be that difficult really. The hard part is going to be organizing the whole thing. These bulk of work for things like this inevitably falls on one or two people. At the very least those of us with Web sites could link to a pay pal account so people can send donations that way. Of course, someone has to set the whole deal up first, but it's an idea.

Another thought: how conceivable would it be for someone to talk the current Review staffers (and future staffers too I guess) into relenquishing their "stipend" from the paper to the scholarship fund? That money never amounted to anything really anyway per person, but as a whole I bet it's a good bit of scratch. I'd be willing to donate all of what I made in four years at the Review to this thing, plus some.

posted by Karen | 12:35 PM

From Brian Hickey:
I hear what Jeff's saying and looked into the logistics of it yesterday. From what I hear, we'd need roughly $25,000 to even get the university to consider a scholarship. At first, it sounded downright impossible. But if we were to get a fundraiser together, perhaps at the Deer Park (a spot Dennis enjoyed thoroughly), while reaching out to both his former newspaper and the families touched by his work in Iraq, I think we could pull it off. Won't be easy, of course, but I think it'd be a fitting tribute.

posted by Karen | 11:12 AM


I've been thinking a ton about Dennis the last two days, and most of what's run through my head has already been eloquently expressed here. While poking around the internet, I found the below link. It's the collection of O'Brien's war stories.

Maybe, in honor of his memory and achievements and all, we could start a UD Dennis O'Brien writing award or journalism scholarship or something. I know it's sort of a cliche when people pass in the field, but I've gotta think it'd make his family feel good ... knowing he'll be honored in such a way. Seems like if a bunch of us are willing to put in, oh, $20 a year (or something), we could do alright.

Good idea? Dumb idea? Any thoughts?

posted by Karen | 9:10 AM

Tuesday, February 03, 2004  

From April Helmer:

And so it begins...

I don't think it would have hurt the story to have a line that mentioned Dennis' own Gulf War service as a Marine in the '90s.

I read an article about Elliot Smith's death and a friend was talking about people who were saying they weren't surprised by the singer/songwriter's suicide. I can't remember the quote but it was something along the lines of "bullshit, I don't care what happens you don't expect someone to stab himself in the heart."

Which is what I think about Dennis' death. If it was indeed suicide, it would be incredibly and unforgivably shortsighted to say that his service as an embedded journalist was the reason for it.

On the other hand, to say this was something that was expected is bullshit.To say a Pulitzer-nominated writer, a father of a 2-year-old daughter and the giving man that he was is meant to kill himself is ridiculous. That kind of black and white view is part of why people feel so damned alone. I wish Dennis hadn't felt alone.

posted by Karen | 2:33 PM

From Ryan Cormier:

More on Dennis' death:

posted by Karen | 12:38 PM

From April Helmer:

Since getting a text message from Jimmy P. yesterday morning, I've been thinking a lot about Dennis. Damn, it's hard to just get past that line. I probably haven't seen him since Spring of my senior year, when he came by the Delaware Today office and we all went out after work (Dennis, Ted Spiker, Drew O., Joe McD and myself as I recall). I got a little drunk that night, we all did, and there was drama later when Joe and I talked Dennis into coming to Newark from Wilmington. Neither Joe nor myself ever had a run-in with Dennis, so it seemed like a good idea at the time.

Though I haven't seen him in years, knowing I'll never have that chance again has shaken me to the core. He was gifted, warm and kind. He was HANDS DOWN (and I mean no disrespect to the others at the Rescrew when I first climbed those steps) the most supportive person there for me. I believe he was associate news editor at the time and I was a lowly 307 student. He was encouraging with my writing and if not for Dennis, I'm not sure I would be in journalism. I'm pretty grateful for that because I'm not sure what else I could do.

This is a true loss.

posted by Karen | 12:33 PM

Monday, February 02, 2004  

From Michael Lewis:

Hickey said it best: Dennis O'Brien had passion. A ton of it. I didn't know him that well, but for those of you at The Review in the mid-1990s, you'd have a hard time forgetting him. The guy was wired and charged up all the time, and was just a truly interesting person to be around. He had ideas on everything and couldn't wait to argue with you about them. He was truly a unique individual, and reading his war dispatches on the Virginian-Pilot website, you could see his passion coming through his words.

R.I.P. Dennis, the world is a quieter and less interesting place right now.

posted by Karen | 2:58 PM

From Ryan Cormier:

By the way, I went up to Lancaster Friday night to see My Morning Jacket. Now why would Ryan be writing about this on the Review blog you might ask? Well, the opening band, Dr. Dog, featured Doug O'Donnell, who worked as a copy editor in '98 I think. He told me they opened several dates for MMJ on the East Coast, officially making Doug an old vet of the road. Very cool. I think he is now focusing on his other band, doublehorse. Unfortunately, I got to the show late and missed the opening.

In a related story from that night -- I was walking out with Tad and Golden Boy when this kid was thrown out of the club by a bouncer. The kid had a pen and pad in hand and was yelling something about how he was giving the band some press. The kid was obviously sloshed. He then yelped, "I write for the University of Delaware Review!" before bumping the bouncer and getting chased across the street. It was quite an embarrassing situation. And we laughed our asses off.

posted by Karen | 1:40 PM

From Ryan Cormier:

posted by Karen | 1:29 PM

From Brian Hickey:

Hey everybody, just got some sad news from Virginia. Those of you who knew Dennis O'Brien will likely agree that there are few people out there who had as much passion for what they did. Here's hoping he rests in peace.

posted by Karen | 10:06 AM

Thursday, January 29, 2004  

From Peter Bothum (
I must give mad props to Captain Goss for his honesty.
I have to agree with him that a freaking college degree means jack shit. Am I a better reporter than Goss because I completely b.s.-ed my way through a few more Brit Lit essay exams than he did? No. Do I write with more polished prose because I have a piece of paper in a cracked frame that's sitting god knows where right now? A thousand times no.
I also have to agree that you should never lie about your record to score a job. That's lame, low and lazy. That's cowardly. And that's definitely not fitting of the fine line of individuals whose byline and hard work have graced the pages of The Review.
After all, a paper that prints April Fool's stories about clowns invading Newark has a reputation to uphold.

From Oakland Childers:
I think Goss makes a good point. This speaks to the whole journalism school vs. no journalism school argument that has raged in the field for so long. Even many those who support the case that you don't need to go to J-school to be a good journalist seem to have some sort of inbred shame about not having a degree in journalism. Personally, I think journalism school is a good idea, but it's no substitute for practical
experience. Scott and myself are good examples. I graduated with a 2.7 or somthing, but had a lot of experience in different areas of journalism. I have never been asked if I graduated, what my GPA was or even where I went to school. It's all about clips. My point, I guess, is that lying about such things is pointless, and honest, as they say, is the best policy. If you're not honest at heart, you have no place in this business. I have hired people to work for me that had no formal training but were wonderful reporters. I have also worked with a person with a masters in journalism that literally did not know how to save her work on a computer and would allow sources to change their quotes after getting nervous about what they had said to her. Be proud of who you are, flaws and all. I would be highly suspicious of any reporter who applied for a job and had a journalism degree, lots of clips, a 4.0 and wasn't a stressed out mess.

posted by Karen | 1:53 PM

Wednesday, January 28, 2004  

From Scott Goss:
i'm a little lazy about checking the blog, so while this freeman business is old hat for everyone else, it's still fresh for me.
i believe i may be able to shed some unique light on what freeman did.
you see, i too, never graduated from delaware despite six years as a student, four of which were spent destroying my GPA at the review.
ive been on dozens of job interviews, submitted hundreds of resumes and even held down a my share of full-time reporter and copy editor jobs. and yet, ive never once lied about my academic past.
i have bent the truth, in that my resume would only list the GPA for my majors which cleverly hid the dismal overall GPA. these days i just list professional experiece.
but when asked, i have always admitted the truth.
ive written too many stories about knuckleheads who did lie on their resume to even consider it.
and to be honest, i dont think my failing out has ever factored into my being considered for a positon.
after all, any asshole can graduate and get a job. how many assholes do you know who can fail out and still find gainful employment in the field of their choice?
i consider it a badge of courage, not something to be ashamed of.
that's my cheesy morality speech for the year.

posted by Karen | 9:43 PM

Saturday, January 24, 2004  

Job openings from Derek Harper:
Howdy everybody,

The Press of Atlantic City has a couple of news openings, for those looking for a job. It's 76,000 daily, 95,000 Sundays.

Right now two general news jobs are open in Atlantic County. Another one is available in the Ocean County bureau.

To the best of my knowledge, a position is still open for a health and environment reporter in Atlantic County.

If you want more information, drop me a line:


posted by Karen | 3:35 PM

Thursday, January 22, 2004  

From Oakland Childers:

That's a nice story Ratso.

posted by Karen | 2:10 PM

From Peter Bothum:

Somewhere in Manhattan...
Tommy Boy Eric Heisler: H-h-h-ey, Sweet Lew. It's like, what's that up in the sky?
Lewis: Come on, Tommy Boy. You know what that is. And if you give me a second to finish up admiring Ace Sr.'s work in the latest Penthouse, I'll tell you: It's the Ayis symbol. He's calling us all back...Don't you know anything?
(Just then, Oakland appears out of nowhere).
Oakland: What the hell guys? I just got back from Sharon Graber's parents' house on the Island, where I took a shit in her parent's cactus. I saw the Ayis symbol. What the f*ck are you waiting for?
Tommy Boy and Sweet Lew: Let's go!
(Tommy Boy, Sweet Lew and Oakland fly to Newark in Superchum's space ship and arrive at the secret Review layer under the Scrounge, where Jimmy P., Fain, Hickey, Missy T., Rich Jones, Shozda and others are already waiting...where the hell are you?)

posted by Karen | 12:37 PM

From Oakland L. Childers:

My site is live:

posted by Karen | 10:21 AM

Wednesday, January 21, 2004  

From Brian Hickey:

We have a position for a full-time copy editor that just opened, pays up to mid-30s. Anybody interested in applying should get in touch with me at the address and phone number below.

Also, cut Freeman some slack. Gotta have a fellow Blue Hen's back, regardless of mistakes made. Particularly when they're man enough to own up to it.

Brian Hickey
Managing Editor/News
Philadelphia City Paper
123 Chestnut St. - Third Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19106
(p) 215.735.8444 x211
(f) 215.875.1811

posted by Karen | 12:54 PM

Tuesday, January 20, 2004  

From Bill Werde:

I didn't think I would post to this board, but Ayis's resurfacing can only mean the apocalypse is nigh and time is short. Someone help me understand a couple of things. What was Freeman thinking? Most people try to hide the fact they graduated from Delaware. And for the love of god, Ayis in medicine? This guy couldn't keep computers running. Now he's working on humans?


posted by Karen | 8:04 PM

From Cindy Augustine:

whatever happened to josh must've happened to me. my mac froze and i lost all my work. i'll be up all night rewriting .. gee, thanks ayis. way to help me recover a doc.


posted by Karen | 11:43 AM

From Joshua J. Withers:


I think somehow you are making my computer crash from across the country!!!!

Just typing your name made my computer scream old Maelstrom sounds and it then threatened to blow itself up.


posted by Karen | 8:53 AM

Sunday, January 18, 2004  

From Ayis Pyrros (

Somehow, I came across this blog site and was surprised to see so many old familiar names, so I had to write. My name is Ayis, I worked at the review from 1996 to 1999 I think I was supposed to do something like "fix" the computers at The Review. That really didn't happen. Anyways, I finished medical school, now I work as slave labor in a hospital.

Currently I am finishing up my internship at Christiana -- and no I will not prescribe you narcotics. I am going to Chicago this coming June to complete my residency at Northwestern.

posted by Karen | 10:30 AM

Friday, January 16, 2004  

From Shaun Gallagher:

"In the attitude of silence the soul finds the path in a clearer light, and what is elusive and deceptive resolves itself into crystal clearness."
-- Mahatma Gandhi

I and my roommmates (Eric "Former EIC" Townsend, Jon "Former Spiritual Advisor" Tracy, Lauren Tracy, and Jessica Walters) recently meditated on these words by Indian passive-resistance icon Mr. Gandi. Clearly, we concluded, what he is saying is that it's time for us to throw another no-stops-left-unpulled party.

These next few months are teeming with holidays to celebrate, like Martin Luther King Jr. Day Observed on January 19; the Chinese New Year on January 22; Groundhog Day on February 2; Valentine's Day on February 14; President's Day on February 16; and the knock-'em-sock-'em combo of Flag Day and Mardi Gras on February 24.

Like a Unitarian-Universalist, we'll be celebrating all these holidays at once on Saturday, February 7, and we'd like to extend an invitation to all of you former Review staffers who might be in the area for business or pleasure.

Here's the low-down on the show-down:

The Pan-Holiday Party
Saturday, February 7
9:45pm until wheneverish
1200 West Creek Village Dr.,
Suite C6, Elkton, Maryland


And because I know how you kids like your parties extra sloppy, we've even given this party an official theme. We're calling it the "Mardi Luther King Valentine's Pajama Pimp and Highlighter" Party! So come dressed up in a white T-shirt, tank-top, pajama set or pimp suit. Mardi-Gras beads and highlighters will be supplied.

If you feel compelled, you may let us know you're coming by e-mailing

posted by Karen | 10:43 AM

Thursday, January 15, 2004  

From Eric Townsend (

I've spent the past six months as the education reporter for the Cecil Whig, the first rung on the career ladder for many Review alumni. It's my first job out of the University of Maryland's journalism grad program. So let's see...master's from Maryland (Jayson Blair, Jack Kelley) and a bachelor's from UD (Mike Freeman). I'm batting 2-for-2 on the scandal list of schools.
Shaun Gallagher is one of my four roommates in Elkton, as well as Jon Tracy, the "spiritual adviser" during my EIC tenure. For those who predated 2000-2001, "spiritual adviser" is a rather loose term. He really should have been called "senior year roommate who hung out at the Review, got drunk with the Review and hooked up with half of the Review."
So six months at the Cecil Whig is really six months too long.  Anyone know of newspaper job openings between Richmond and Hartford?

posted by Karen | 9:05 AM

Tuesday, January 13, 2004  

From Oakland Childers. Re: Freeman :

I know you're all a little upset about this, but I have a plan: maybe I'll sell him a chicken, with poison interlaced with the meat.

posted by Karen | 11:49 AM

Monday, January 12, 2004  

From Ryan Cormier:

More on the Freeman story:

posted by Karen | 4:21 PM

From Peter Bothum:
I don't know Mike Freeman. But he did admit to lying. He didn't "not graduate on time" as Bill Fleischman said. HE DID NOT GRADUATE FROM UD.
He needs our support? He's working at the NYT without a college degree. I think he's doing a-ok.
He also lied on a resume. Which prof was teaching that in 307 at UD?
Freeman explains why he didn't take the Indy job in this note:
"Late last month I left the New York Times to take a column position at the Indianapolis Star. While in the process of interviewing for the position, I filled out an application form and stated I was a graduate of the University of Delaware. I also, for the first time ever, stated this fact on my resume."These were lies. I was at the university for four years but in fact did not graduate.

"This was a terrible and unforgivable manipulation of the facts and I have resigned from my newly accepted position as columnist for the Star. It was the only time I have told such falsehoods and no other deceptions have ever appeared in any of my newspaper stories or two books at any time in my 16-years of practicing journalism. Nevertheless, the information I gave the Star was wrong and I will be punished with the loss of my newspaper career.

"There are no excuses or alibis. This is my fault and my fault alone.

"Most of all, I have hurt and disappointed close friends and family, particularly my wife, and for this I am truly sorry. I also want to apologize to the Star, especially Tim Wheatley, the assistant managing editor of sports, who treated me with such respect during the interview
process, and columnist Bob Kravitz, who helped introduce me to Tim and others at the paper."

posted by Karen | 11:38 AM

Sunday, January 11, 2004  

From Jeff Pearlman:
When I was at The Review, Mike Freeman came to speak to Prof. Fleischman's sportswriting class. After he was done with the lecture, I asked if he'd be willing to critique some of my clips. The next day I sent him, oh, 25 articles, and each one came back with comments, criticisms, compliments, etc. It was above and beyond what you'd expect from a guy covering the NBA for the Times.

Beginning with my years at UD, and through today, I've considered Mike to be not only a friend, but the ultimate example that someone can rise from a small journalism program (like ours) and excel. At The Review, I would dig through the old bound versions to read everything Mike wrote, which was at a really high level. All writers need some sort of inspiration, and his success was mine.

I'm babbling. There's no point here, except that I'm still proud to have been a product of the same journalism program that produced Mike Freeman.

posted by Karen | 12:04 PM

Saturday, January 10, 2004  

From Bill Fleischman:
Just trying to lend some perspective to Mike Freeman's troubles. We all knew that he didn't graduate on time from UD. I thought I had heard that later he completed work on his degree. I think the Indianapolis Star is overreacting to a mistake that Mike made in his resume.

Mike needs our support now.

posted by Karen | 9:07 PM

From Ryan Cormier:

Does everyone have their degrees handy?

posted by Karen | 7:38 PM

Thursday, January 08, 2004  

From Peter Bothum (
Custard and berry
Peaches and creme
Glazing and cherry
Spicy and sticky
Chocolate with cheese
Custard and berry
Peaches and creme
Glazing and cherry
Custard and berry
Peaches and creme
Glazing and cherry
Chocolate with cheese
Candi, Candi
Candi, Candi

posted by Karen | 1:15 PM

From Joshua J Withers (

Hey gang,

Just letting you all know (if you actually give a damn) that i have relocated to LA. I set up a Digital Imaging studio (photoshop geek department) for a large advertising agency. If anybody should need
photos of anything in the LA area for a story or whatever... I'm always down.

Happy new year!

posted by Karen | 8:57 AM

Thursday, December 25, 2003  

From Mike Bederka:

Hi all,
My company has an editor opening for one of its medical magazines. Here's the publication's Web site, if you want to check it out: Drop me an e-mail if you have any questions or want me to pass along your info:
Mike Bederka 

posted by Karen | 9:04 PM

Sunday, December 21, 2003  

From Sue Stock (

Hi everyone,
Sorry for the last-minute notice, but if anyone's going to be in Newark tomorrow (Monday, the 22nd), I'm going to be floating around town for most of the afternoon. Currently my plans are to hit Kate's around 5 or so for dinner. If anyone wants to come for a mini reunion, I'd love to see you. Happy holidays, and Go Blue Hens!!!


posted by Karen | 7:04 PM

Tuesday, December 16, 2003  

From Oakland Childers: I'd just like to point out that Oakland Raiders quarterback Rich Gannon was a Blue Hen, and he took his team to the super bowl last year. So it's not fair to say, Dr. Lewis, that most people haven't thought about Delaware football recently.

By the way, my Web site should be up this week. check it out:

posted by Karen | 1:06 PM